Diary of a Fat Girl, Part 1


There is always something to smile about

I see the way you look at me. I see the sidelong glances as I walk by. Sometimes, it’s not even a glance…it’s a head-on stare as you look down your nose at me. I hear the giggles and the jokes. I feel the animosity radiate off of you.  You hate what you don’t understand…or so I am told. Understand this… I am a human being, just like you. I bleed. I cry. I  hurt.

I AM FAT.  There, I said it.  No sugar-coating, no cute little nicknames for it.   Plain and simple, I am a fat person.  Am I happy about it?  Of course not.  Do I blame only myself?  Sometimes, but I know there are more reasons behind it.   Do I wish I were of  “normal” size?  Of course I do!  It sure would have made my life a little easier.   Have I tried dieting, you ask?  The only answer I can give you for that is, DUH!

My weight issue has been a lifelong battle.  I have been passed over for jobs, chased out of department stores, stared at, made fun of, had pranks played on me.  You name it, I have been through it.  But you know what?  It has made me a stronger person.  It has also taught me how to be forgiving, more intuitive, more outgoing and more appreciative of who I am inside.  I guess you could say that instead of turning it in and letting it bring me down…I turned it out and decided to live my life and be the best human being I could be.

You may ask me…why are you writing this?  Why are you putting something painful and embarrassing out there for the world to see?  Because I want to inspire those that are walking in my moccasins AND let those who never had a weight problem in their life know what it’s like.  Perhaps I can prevent someone from being bullied.  Perhaps I can inspire a kind word instead of a hateful word.  Perhaps I can make someone THINK before they act.

This blog will be in parts.  It will not be chronological.  It will be remembrances of things in my life as they come to me.  Part 1 is an introduction.    Part 2 will be coming shortly.  Please feel free to leave comments on this and upcoming parts of this blog, if it touches you in any way.

Oh, by the way…the old saying “Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never harm me”……IS SO NOT TRUE!

So this is supposed to be funny?

Wolfmom

Leave a Reply

